## 2. EUROPEAN CONVENTION ON INTERNATIONAL COMMERCIAL ARBITRATION

## Geneva, 21 April 1961

7 January 1964, in accordance with article X(8), with the exception of paragraphs 3 to 7 of article IV which entered into force on 18 October 1965, in accordance with paragraph **ENTRY INTO FORCE:** 

4 of the Annex to the Convention.

**REGISTRATION:** 7 January 1964, No. 7041.

**STATUS:** Signatories: 16. Parties: 31.

**TEXT:** United Nations, Treaty Series, vol. 484, p. 349.

Note: The Convention was prepared and opened for signature on 21 April 1961 by the Special Meeting of Plenipotentiaries for the purpose of negotiating and signing a European Convention on International Commercial Arbitration, which was convened in accordance with resolution 7 (XV)1 of the Economic Commission for Europe, adopted on 5 May 1960. The Special Meeting was held at the European Office of the United Nations in Geneva from 10 to 21 April 1961. For the text of the Final Act of the Special Meeting, see United Nations, *Treaty Series*, vol. 484, p. 349.

Participant	Signature		Ratification, Accession(a), Succession(d)		Participant	Signature		Ratification, Accession(a), Succession(d)	
Albania			27 Jun	2001 a	Italy	21 Apr	1961	3 Aug	1970
Austria	21 Apr	1961	6 Mar	1964	Kazakhstan			20 Nov	1995 a
Azerbaijan			17 Jan	2005 a	Latvia			20 Mar	2003 a
Belarus	21 Apr	1961	14 Oct	1963	Luxembourg			26 Mar	1982 a
Belgium	21 Apr	1961	9 Oct	1975	Montenegro <sup>7</sup>			23 Oct	2006 d
Bosnia and					North Macedonia <sup>2</sup>			10 Mar	1994 d
Herzegovina <sup>2</sup>			1 Sep	1993 d	Poland	21 Apr	1961	15 Sep	1964
Bulgaria	21 Apr	1961	13 May	1964	Republic of Moldova			5 Mar	1998 a
Burkina Faso			26 Jan	1965 a	Romania	21 Apr	1961	16 Aug	1963
Croatia <sup>2</sup>			26 Jul	1993 d	Russian Federation	21 Apr	1961	27 Jun	1962
Cuba			1 Sep	1965 a	Serbia <sup>2</sup>			12 Mar	2001 d
Czech Republic <sup>3</sup>			30 Sep	1993 d	Slovakia <sup>3</sup>			28 May	1993 d
Denmark <sup>4</sup>	21 Apr	1961	22 Dec	1972	Slovenia <sup>2</sup>	••		6 Jul	1992 d
Finland	21 Dec	1961			Spain	14 Dec	1961	12 May	1975
France	21 Apr	1961	16 Dec	1966	Turkey		1961	24 Jan	1992
Germany <sup>5,6</sup>	21 Apr	1961	27 Oct	1964	Ukraine	-	1961	18 Mar	1963
Hungary	21 Apr	1961	9 Oct	1963		1			

# **Declarations and Reservations**

(Unless otherwise indicated, the declarations and reservations were made upon ratification, accession or succession.) Notifications made under article X (6) (Unless otherwise indicated, the notifications were made upon ratification, accession or succession.)

# BELGIUM

In accordance with article II, paragraph 2, of the Convention, the Belgian Government declares that in Belgium only the State has, in the cases referred to in article I, paragraph 1, the faculty to conclude arbitration agreements.

# LATVIA8

#### LUXEMBOURG

Except where otherwise expressly provided for in the arbitration agreement, the presiding judges of the local

courts shall assume the functions entrusted to the presidents of the chambers of commerce under article IV of the Convention. The presiding judges shall hear the disputes in chambers.

# Notifications made under article X (6) (Unless otherwise indicated, the notifications were made upon ratification, accession or succession.)

#### **AZERBAIJAN**

"In connection with the requirement contained in Article X (6) of the above-mentioned Convention, the [...] the Republic of Azerbaijan would like to inform that the functions referred to in Article IV of the Convention are exercised by the Economic Court of the Republic of Azerbaijan, in accordance with Article 6 of the law on Interrest and Arbitration of the Republic of Azerbaijan," International Arbitration of the Republic of Azerbaijan.

#### **CROATIA**

...the following institution in the Republic of Croatia has been designated to exercise the functions referred to in Article IV of the Convention.

Permanent Arbitration Court to the Croatian Chamber of Commerce

Rooseveltov trg 2 10000 ZABREB Croatia

tel: 385 1 4606-733 fax: 385 1 4606-752 email: sudiste@hgk.hr"

# KAZAKHSTAN

"In accordance with article X, paragraph 6 of the abovementioned Convention, the Permanent Mission of the Republic of Kazakhstan would like to inform that functions conferred by Article IV are exercised by:

Center of Arbitration of the National Chamber of Entrepreneurs of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Address: Kunayev Street 8, block "B" Astana, 010000, Republic of Kazakhstan Phone: +7-7172-919300\*1759, +7-7172-919356 E-mail: arbitration@palata.kz."

#### LATVIA

"In accordance with article X, paragraph 6, of the European Convention on International Commercial Arbitration, the Republic of Latvia communicates that functions conferred by article IV will exercise:

Latvian Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Address: K. Valdemara street 35 Riga, LV-1010, Latvia Phone: + 371 7 225 595 Fax: + 371 7 820 092 e-mail: info@chamber.lv."

# SLOVAKIA

"... in accordance with article X (6) of the European Convention on International Commercial Arbitration [the Government of the Slovak Republic] has the honour to communicate the following institution that has been designated to exercise functions conferred by Article IV of the above mentioned Convention:

Slovak Chamber of Commerce and Industry

Gorkého 9

816 03 Bratislava

Phone: +421 2 54433291 Fax: + 421 2 54131159 Email: sopkurad@scci.sk."

#### Notes:

- Official Records of the Economic and Social Council, Fifteenth Session, Supplement No. 3 (E/3349), p. 55.
- <sup>2</sup> The former Yugoslavia had signed and ratified the Convention on 21 April 1961 and 25 September 1963, respectively. See also note 1 under "Bosnia and Herzegovina", Croatia, "former Yugoslavia", "Slovenia", "The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia" and "Yugoslavia" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.
- <sup>3</sup> Czechoslovakia had signed and ratified the Convention on 21 April 1961 and 13 November 1963, respectively. See also note 1 under "Czech Republic" and note 1 under "Slovakia" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.
- The instrument of ratification contained a declaration to the effect that the Convention for the time being would not extend to the Faeroe Islands and Greenland.

In a communication received on 12 November 1975, the Govern- ment of Denmark declared that it had withdrawn the above-mentioned reservation, the decision to take effect on 1 January 1976.

- <sup>5</sup> The German Democratic Republic had acceded to the Convention on 20 February 1975. See also note 2 under "Germany" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.
- See note 1 under "Germany" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.
- See note 1 under "Montenegro" in the "Historical Information" section in the front matter of this volume.
- On 23 December 2013, the Government of Latvia notified the Secretary General of the withdrawal of the following declaration under article II (2) made upon accession:

"In accordance with article II, paragraph 2, of the European Convention on International Commercial Arbitration, the Republic of Latvia declares that article II, paragraph 1, does not apply for state authorities and local government authorities."