Declarations recognizing the jurisdiction of the Court as compulsory

Icj-cij.org/en/declarations

INTERNATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE

The States parties to the Statute of the Court may "at any time declare that they recognize as compulsory *ipso facto* and without special agreement, in relation to any other State accepting the same obligation, the jurisdiction of the Court" (Art. 36, para. 2, of the Statute).



Each State which has recognized the compulsory jurisdiction of the Court has in principle the right to bring any one or more other States, which have accepted the same obligation, before the Court, by filing an application instituting proceedings with the Court. Conversely, it undertakes to appear before the Court should proceedings be instituted against it by one or more other such States.

The declarations recognizing the jurisdiction of the Court as compulsory take the form of a unilateral act of the State concerned and are deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations.

The texts of declarations made under Article 36, paragraph 2, of the Statute, which, based on the information provided by the depository, had not expired or been withdrawn or replaced on 1 January 2018, can be found below. The inclusion or omission of a declaration is without prejudice to its possible application by the Court in a particular case.

In view of the provisions of Article 36, paragraph 5, of the Statute of the International Court of Justice, the list also includes the texts of declarations made under the Statute of the Permanent Court of International Justice that have not lapsed or been withdrawn. There are now six such declarations.

The declarations, deposited by a total of 73 States, are given here in English. Where this is not the original language of the declaration, the translations used, except where otherwise indicated, are by the Secretariat of the United Nations or of the League of Nations.

The following declarations have been filed with the Secretary-General of the United Nations (the date shown after the name of the State is that on which the declaration was deposited):

- Australia 22 March 2002
- Austria 19 May 1971
- Barbados 1 August 1980
- Belgium 17 June 1958

- Botswana 16 March 1970
- Bulgaria 27 November 2015
- <u>Cambodia 19 September 1957</u>
- <u>Cameroon 3 March 1994</u>
- Canada 10 May 1994
- Costa Rica 20 February 1973
- Cote d'Ivoire 29 August 2001
- <u>Cyprus 3 September 2002</u>
- Democratic Republic of the Congo 8 February 1989
- Denmark 10 December 1956
- Djibouti 2 September 2005
- Dominican Republic 30 September 1924
- Dominica, Commonwealth of 24 March 2006
- Egypt 22 July 1957
- Equatorial Guinea 11 August 2017
- Estonia 21 October 1991
- Finland 25 June 1958
- Gambia 22 June 1966
- Georgia 20 June 1995
- Germany 30 April 2008
- Greece 14 January 2015
- Guinea-Bissau 7 August 1989
- Guinea, Republic of 4 December 1998
- Haiti 4 October 1921
- Honduras 6 June 1986
- Hungary 22 October 1992
- India 27 September 2019
- Ireland 15 December 2011
- Italy 25 November 2014
- Japan 6 October 2015
- Latvia, Republic of 24 September 2019
- Lesotho 6 September 2000
- Liberia 20 March 1952
- Liechtenstein 29 March 1950
- Lithuania 21 September 2012
- Luxembourg 15 September 1930
- Madagascar 2 July 1992
- Malawi 12 December 1966
- Malta 2 September 1983
- Marshall Islands 24 April 2013
- Mauritius 23 September 1968
- Mexico 28 October 1947

- Netherlands 21 February 2017
- New Zealand 22 September 1977
- Nicaragua 24 September 1946
- Nigeria 30 April 1998
- Norway 24 June 1996
- Pakistan 29 March 2017
- Panama 25 October 1921
- Paraguay 25 September 1996
- Peru 7 July 2003
- Philippines 18 January 1972
- Poland 25 March 1996
- Portugal 25 February 2005
- Romania 23 June 2015
- Senegal 2 December 1985
- Slovakia 28 May 2004
- Somalia 11 April 1963
- Spain 29 October 1990
- Sudan 2 January 1958
- Suriname <u>31 August 1987</u>
- Swaziland 26 May 1969
- Sweden 6 April 1957
- Switzerland 28 July 1948
- Timor-Leste 21 September 2012
- <u>Togo 25 October 1979</u>
- Uganda 3 October 1963
- <u>United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland 22 February 2017</u>
- Uruguay 28 January 1921